Saturday, April 1, 2023

Listen to “Mission Perpetual” from Pixar’s Upcoming ‘Lightyear’

FANDOMDISNEYListen to “Mission Perpetual” from Pixar's Upcoming 'Lightyear'

Ahead of its release on June 17, Disney and Pixar have released one of the songs from Oscar-winner Michael Giacchino’s score for the film, “Mission Perpetual.”

Commenting on the track, Giacchino said, “One of my favorite sequences is called ‘Mission Perpetual.’ It’s early on in the film when Buzz is trying to accomplish a mission and keeps failing. It was an exciting challenge for me because there were so many things the music needed to convey: Buzz’s frustration with himself and the sadness of being alone in his pursuit, but also his undying ambition and drive to achieve his goal. I went through a similar ‘mission’ myself to get this cue right, but once I did, it was incredibly rewarding.”

The score was recorded over 15 days with an 89-piece orchestra and 39-member choir. The entire soundtrack will have a total of 31 tracks and be available in Dolby Atmos Music.

- Advertisement -

A sci-fi action adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear, the hero who inspired the toy, Lightyear follows the legendary Space Ranger after he’s marooned on a hostile planet 4.2 million light-years from Earth alongside his commander and their crew. As Buzz tries to find a way back home through space and time, he’s joined by a group of ambitious recruits and his charming robot companion cat, Sox. Complicating matters and threatening the mission is the arrival of Zurg, an imposing presence with an army of ruthless robots and a mysterious agenda. 

Lightyear stars Chris Evans as Buzz Lightyear, Uzo Aduba as his commander and best friend Alisha Hawthorne, and Peter Sohn as Sox. Keke Palmer, Taika Waititi, and Dale Soules lend their voices to the Junior Zap Patrol’s Izzy Hawthorne, Mo Morrison, and Darby Steel, respectively, and James Brolin will be heard as the villain Zurg. The voice cast also includes Mary McDonald-Lewis as onboard computer I.V.A.N., Isiah Whitlock Jr. as Commander Burnside, Efren Ramirez as Airman Diaz, and Keira Hairston as Young Izzy.

Lightyear premieres exclusively in theaters June 17.

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Latest Articles