SFFILM Announces Jane Campion, Reinaldo Marcus Green, Maggie Gyllenhaal, & Oscar Isaac as 2021 Honorees


Today, SFFILM announced their honorees for the annual 2021 SFFILM Awards Night, an event that honors exemplary achievement in film craft: Jane Campion, Reinaldo Marcus Green, Maggie Gyllenhaal, and Oscar Isaac.

Academy Award winner Jane Campion will receive the Irving M. Levin Award for Film Direction, an award that is presented each year to one of the masters of world cinema and is given in memory of the founder of the San Francisco International Film Festival in 1957. Campion is best known for her debut feature The Piano, and she most recently received the Silver Lion for directing at the Venice International Film Festival for her film The Power of the Dog.

Writer, director, and producer Reinaldo Marcus Green is set to be honored with the SFFILM Special Award for Distinctive Voice, which is designed to recognize an achievement that reflects the organization’s belief in the enduring power, beauty, and social impact of film. Known for his work on Monsters and Men and Top Boy, Green recently directed King Richard starring Will Smith.

Award-winning actress, producer, and now director and screenwriter Maggie Gyllenhaal will receive the Kanbar Award for Storytelling, which acknowledges the critical importance that storytelling plays in the creation of outstanding films. Most recently, Gyllenhaal is known for her work on titles such as The Deuce, The Kindergarten Teacher, and The Honorable Woman.

Finally, the critically acclaimed, award-winning actor, producer, and musician Oscar Isaac will be presented with the SFFILM Award for Acting, which honors a performer whose work exemplifies brilliance, independence, and integrity. While many may recognize Isaac from the Star Wars sequel trilogy, his extensive career also includes titles such as Inside Llewyn Davis and Show Me A Hero. Isaac has had a handful of projects roll out this year, such as The Card Counter, Scenes From A Marriage, Dune, and The Addams Family 2. Check out all of Isaac’s upcoming films and shows here.

“I can’t tell you how tremendous it feels to be back in person celebrating such exceptional talent. Jane, Reinaldo, Maggie, and Oscar embody the spirit and brilliance we value so much in singular storytelling. Their work this year has raised the bar, and SFFILM is proud to award such exceptional artists and hopefully inspire a next generation of storytellers in the Bay Area and beyond,” said Executive Director of SFFILM Anne Lai. 

SFFILM, the presenter of the San Francisco International Film Festival, is a nonprofit organization with a mission to champion the world’s finest films and filmmakers through programs anchored in and inspired by the spirit and values of the San Francisco Bay Area.

The 2021 SFFilm Awards Night will take place on Monday, December 6 at San Francisco’s YBCA Forum, and it will be hosted by co-chairs Heidi Castelein, Krutika Patel, and Katie and Todd Traina.

Lindsey joined the Nerds and Beyond team in 2018. If she's not writing or out and about with her camera, she's probably watching anime, nerding out over Star Wars, reading manga, and definitely forgetting to water her plants. And waiting for the Genshin loading screen to pop up. Contact: lindsey@nerdsandbeyond.com

Leave a Reply


Related articles

‘Case 63’ Podcast Review: A Compelling, Must-Listen Audio Drama

Spotify's Gimlet studios released its latest podcast today -- Case 63. An English language adaptation of creator Julio...

Guillermo del Toro’s ‘Pinocchio’ to Recieve SF Honors Award

Academy Award-winning director Guillermo del Toro (The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth) has received the SFFILM's 2022 SF Honors...

Photos: Oscar Isaac & More at ‘Head Wounds: Sparrow’ Book Launch Event

Yesterday evening, Barnes & Noble Union Square in New York City held a special launch event for Legendary's...

Oscar Isaac and Julianne Moore Scripted Podcast ‘Case 63’ Trailer and Release Date Revealed

A release date for the upcoming scripted podcast starring Oscar Isaac and Julianne Moore, Case 63, has finally...