Men’s WarGames Match Announced for WWE Survivor Series


The famed WarGames stipulation will make a return at this year’s Survivor Series.

At the end of Monday Night RAW, RAW GM Adam Pearce announced the teams — (Finn Balor, Damian Priest, Dominik Mysterio) and their ally JD McDonagh vs. WWE Heavyweight Champion Seth Rollins, Sami Zayn, Jey Uso, and Cody Rhodes.

For the past few weeks, these men have been involved in a program with The Judgment Day. Zayn has been adamant about making sure that The Judgment Day doesn’t hold all the gold in the company like The Bloodline once did. At Crown Jewel, he prevented Priest from cashing in his contract by stealing it and fleeing. Rhodes and Uso have been aligned since before Fastlane where they won tag team gold together. They only held the titles for nine days, losing them to The Judgment Day who enacted their rematch. When Priest wrestled a resilient Rhodes at Crown Jewel, he tried to use the extra numbers in Judgment Day — Mysterio, Balor, McDonagh — to help put Rhodes out for good. Uso didn’t like that, storming to the ring and taking out the three men with superkicks before he chased them up the ramp. At the end of Monday Night RAW, Rollins retained his championship in a match against Zayn. The two shook hands just as the Judgment Day stormed the ring to beat them up. Pearce came out to break it up and announced the men’s WarGames match.

Created in 1987 by Dusty Rhodes, the WarGames match stipulation has been used in many promotions over the years, including NWA, WCW, and AEW (Blood & Guts). WWE has been running WarGames style events since 2017’s NXT Takeover: WarGames. It would officially become part of the Survivor Series PLE in 2022 where The Bloodline defeated The Brawling Brutes and Bianca Belair, Alexa Bliss, Asuka, Mia Yim, and Becky Lynch defeated Damage CTRL, Rhea Ripley, and Nikki Cross.

The Survivor Series card also includes an Intercontinental Championship Match between Gunther and The Miz and Rhea Ripley defending the Women’s World Championship against Zoey Stark. Survivor Series takes place November 25 in Chicago, Illinois at the Allstate Arena. It will stream on Peacock in the U.S. and the WWE Network everywhere else.

Haley joined the Nerds and Beyond team in 2019 as a Writer and Editor. Her main fandoms include Criminal Minds, Wrestling, and The Walking Dead. You can find her on Twitter @haleyanne_.

Leave a Reply


Related articles

Mariah May Signs With AEW

The AEW women’s division just got a little more glamorous with the signing of Mariah May. May is one...

The CW To Become Home of WWE NXT in 2024

WWE NXT will move to The CW in 2024. WWE is entering a five year deal with the company...

Zoey Stark vs. Rhea Ripley Set for Survivor Series: WarGames

Rhea Ripley will defend the Women’s World Championship against Zoey Stark at Survivor Series: WarGames. Zoey Stark has risen...

Sareee Signs Multi-Year Contract With Sukeban

Sareee (f.k.a. WWE’s Sarray) has officially signed a contract with the up and coming U.S. based Japanese female...