‘The Walking Dead’ to End With Season 11, But Two New TWD Universe Series Announced

2 Min Read
Courtesy of Jackson Lee Davis/AMC

Well, TWD fans, it looks like the zombie apocalypse is coming to an end. The most successful scripted series of all time, AMC’s series The Walking Dead, will end after season 11 in 2022 with a 24 episode run.

The Walking Dead first aired in 2010, introducing Rick Grimes who wakes up from a coma to find the world in shambles, thanks to some bloodthirsty zombies. He soon becomes the leader of a group of people who do what they can to avoid being bitten. The show stars Andrew Lincoln, Melissa McBride, Norman Reedus, Danai Gurira, Lauren Cohan, and more.

But The Walking Dead universe won’t be going anywhere even after the flagship series airs its final episode. The Walking Dead: World Beyond will debut on October 4 and season 6 of Fear the Walking Dead will air October 11, along with two new series that have just been announced.

One will focus around two fan-favorite characters — Norman Reedus’ Daryl Dixon and Melissa McBride’s Carol Peletier. AMC has confirmed the series and it will debut sometime in 2023. Taking up the helm of the series will be The Walking Dead chief content officer Scott M. Gimple and the current showrunner Angela Kang.

The second new series, also developed by Gimple, is titled Tales of the Walking Dead, which has the potential to bring any and all former characters back to the screens. Based on new characters or existing ones, it will feature individual episodes on past experiences or stand-alone stories for anyone in The Walking Dead universe.

The season 10 finale of TWD will premiere on AMC October 4 at 9 p.m. EST/PT.

Nerds and Beyond is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Share this Article
By Julia
Julia is a writer/editor/content assistant for Nerds who joined the team in 2019.
Leave a comment