Princess Goes Releases New Single “Shimmer,” Announces Second Album


After a bit of a hiatus and lots of teasing via social media, Princess Goes (formerly known by their longer name Princess Goes to the Butterfly Museum) has released a new single and announced that a second album is on the way. The single is entitled “Shimmer” and is available now on Spotify and Apple Music.

The album, titled Come of Age, is set to release on September 15. According to the Apple Music listing, the album is 12 tracks, including the title song, “Shimmer,” the previously released single “Let It Go,” and more. Additionally, vinyl, CD, and cassette versions of the album are available to pre-order on the Princess Goes website, as well as a new t-shirt featuring the album art. Check out the full tracklist for Come of Age below:

  1. “Offering”
  2. “Let It Go”
  3. “Blur”
  4. “Come of Age”
  5. “Shimmer”
  6. “Jetpack”
  7. “Glasswing”
  8. “Take Me Home”
  9. “Beija”
  10. “Saving Grace”
  11. “Whatever Whispers”
  12. “Floating”

In conjunction with the album’s release, Princess Goes will host a release show at Elsewhere in Brooklyn, NY on September 20. They will then go on a European tour beginning on September 26 in Manchester, United Kingdom. It will run through October 8 and include multiple cities in the UK, as well as France, Germany, Netherlands, and Belgium. Tickets and other information are available on the group’s website.

Princess Goes released their first official single, “Ketamine,” in 2019, with their debut EP, Princess Goes to the Butterfly Museum, releasing in 2020. The group’s debut album, Thanks for Coming, released the following year in 2021, with a handful of singles between to the two releases. In May of last year, “Ketamine” received its own EP consisting of the original track and four different remixes. “Let It Go,” a song which the group performed at several live shows, was released as a single in October 2022, followed by a months-long hiatus leading into “Shimmer” and the upcoming album. Princess Goes are Michael C. Hall, Matt Katz-Bohen, and Peter Yanowitz.

Come of Age releases September 15, and “Shimmer” is available now. Watch the music video below:

Julia is a writer/editor/content assistant for Nerds who joined the team in 2019.

Leave a Reply


Related articles