‘Watchmen’ and ‘Schitt’s Creek’ Among 2020 TCA Winners


The Television Critics Association, or TCA, is a prestigious group of about 250 television journalists in the United States and Canada. Every year since 1984, the members vote on the best movies, shows, and specials, and the winners of the 2020 awards have just been announced!

Some notable nominees this year included The Mandalorian, The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, Schitt’s Creek, Little Fires Everywhere, Normal People, and Watchmen. You can find the full list of nominees here, and check out this year’s winners below!

  • Career Achievement Award: Alex Trebek, Jeopardy!
  • Individual Achievement in Comedy: Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
  • Individual Achievement in Drama: Regina King, Watchmen
  • Outstanding Achievement in Sketch/Variety Shows: A Black Lady Sketch Show (HBO)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: Cheer (Netflix)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: Molly of Denali (PBS Kids)
  • Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: The Last Dance (ESPN)
  • Heritage Award: Star Trek (CBS)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: Schitt’s Creek (Pop TV)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Drama: Succession (HBO)
  • Outstanding New Program: Watchmen (HBO)
  • Outstanding Movie, Miniseries, or Special: Watchmen (HBO)
  • Program of the Year: Watchmen (HBO)

You can see a list of previous winners on the TCA website. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners!

Sarah joined Nerds and Beyond in 2019 to write about her many nerdy passions. With a Masters degree in Marine Biology, many question her decision to move to the desert (aka Las Vegas), but she is normally too preoccupied with teaching them about sea turtles to notice their concern. She refuses to fit in a box and lives her life on her own terms, sometimes in spite of societal norms. She loves to travel any chance she gets, which usually involves seeing her favorite band, Louden Swain. When at home, she enjoys binge-watching tv shows on her "to watch" list, working on craft projects, trying new recipes, and planning more travel.

Leave a Reply


Related articles

‘Bridgerton’: Netflix Releases Trailer for Upcoming Season 3

Netflix has released the trailer for the upcoming third season of Bridgerton, which is centered around Penelope Featherington...

Watch the Teaser Trailer for ‘Kaos’ Starring Jeff Goldblum Coming Soon to Netflix

Netflix has released the first-look teaser trailer of Kaos starring Jeff Goldblum. The upcoming show Kaos is brought to...

Netflix’s Series ‘The Gentlemen’ Releases New Trailer

The Gentlemen story is expanding! Guy Ritchie has returned and partnered with Netflix to continue what he started...

The Final Season of ‘The Umbrella Academy’ Premiering This August

The Hargreeves' story is coming to a close this August. Netflix has revealed that the fourth and final season...